Dec 10 2004, 04:09 PM
Hi, this is my first post. I have been reading here alot, and finally went ahead and joined up. My question is this: I have been playing for about two months, and love the game but am frustrated with little distance. I think one problem may be that I weigh 280 so I am not as physicaly fit as others. Any suggestions for succsess for someone of my stature?

circle_2
Dec 10 2004, 04:18 PM
Use your hips and torso to 'pull' the disc across your chest leading with your elbow. Slow(er) footwork and smoothness are what has helped me the most in my 7.5 years of playing.
A local player in KC who is an up-and-comer made some significant changes in his distance and accuracy... He summed it up like this - "I feel like I'm throwing over my head...but raising the line I pull across has helped me greatly!"

Dec 10 2004, 04:30 PM
Dont worry about your stature. I myself weigh about 245. and can throw them 430 ft... avg about 400ft. Their are also a couple bigger guys here and they can crush them as well. its all about getting the momentum into your throw, use alot of power from your legs and hips and this should increase distance a lot.

Dec 10 2004, 04:33 PM
How far are you throwing now? also. the better your technigue the further you will throw. i know of guys who can pretty much just stand their. and throw it 500ft. work on your technique. and accuracy first. then worry about distance, and focus more on putting in the early stages of playing. thats what i should have done.

Dec 11 2004, 05:39 PM
Great to hear that another big guy is playing disc golf. I am just like you, about 280. I love this sport and will never stop playing it. I wish I could give you help, but I am not very good myself. I, too, need to work on distance. I have only been playing for a little over a year. Any way, I just thought it was cool to hear that some larger men are playing this sport. I thought I was the only one!

Dec 11 2004, 08:10 PM