Nov 02 2004, 04:56 PM
I need to do something but unsure of what. I see people on here who have only been playing for a few months and are throwing over 300' yet I have been playing for almost 4 years now and have only broken 300' a few times. My average score for a round is about 65. I need to completely relearn how to throw...any suggestions? What about hypnotism?

rhett
Nov 02 2004, 04:57 PM
Get a driver and save the Aero for upshots. :)

slo
Nov 02 2004, 05:05 PM
My average score for a round is about 65.

If that's on a par 54 course, it sounds like you need to get your par putts a lot closer!

....nothing beats a 150-200 foot controlled upshot! ;)

Kenja
Nov 02 2004, 06:51 PM
The best way to learn to throw far is:
1) Read everything on Blake T's site (discgolfreview.com)
2) Go to an open field for half an hour every day and huck plastic. Don't forget to follow through!

The best way to learn to play is at your local course's league event. Almost every course has a weekly random draw doubles event -- you'll develop your game while developing the disc golf community.

Nov 02 2004, 07:05 PM
Best thing that I can recomend is what my "coach" tells me about my throw to tell other people.

Throw frisbee hard. (yeah yeah its a golf disc not a frisbee, but it sounds better)

Quite often I see people throw with their elbow curled and the disc pointed towards their chest like they are going to throw an Ultrastar. I see their disc go way high and fall left (righties). I try to explain that your arm is like the shaft of a golf club, the disc is the face of the club. You need club head speed to go far. Try practicing throwing as hard as you can with an overstable midrange, this way you will not have to chase your discs as far and you can get more control out of it.