Aug 16 2004, 04:43 PM
I just started playing disc golf, and I really enjoy it, however, I have an irritated disc in my lower back, and after about 7-8 holes I have to stop. I have tried both backhand and sidearm, and neither seem to be better for me. The most problematic part of the game is the initial drive; I simply can't twist my torso enough to generate sufficient power for a nice drive. I'm wondering if there are other people who play disc golf in spite of their back problems, and if there are techniques I can employ--altering my mechanics, different throwing styles--to make disc golf more playable for me. Can the tomahawk be used for driving/long approach? I am not looking to be an expert at the game, in fact, my friends generously give me at least one extra shot for par, I just want to be able to play longer.

thanks,
Mad Cow

Blarg
Aug 16 2004, 05:30 PM
Sorry about your back.
Yes, a tomahawk can be used for a drive and I've seen it done
by somebody or other during almost every round I've played.
I've also seen guys throw a mile with almost no torso rotation.
They are usually heavy guys with big fat arms and they just stand there and snap the crap out of the disc with a very short reach back.
There is another throw I've seen (very rare) where the thrower faces the target with the disc held pointing downwards alongside the thigh. I used to call it the 'suitcase throw,' because the disc is held just as you would hold a suitcase.
Take a step or two forward, bring the disc up while turning it more or less to a level plane and then flicking it out in front of you. No spinal rotation required.
It's a common throw for Ultimate or playing catch, but it's rare in disc golf. The guy I played with who used it (only seen one person do this so far) could throw at least 400' with this method and it looked effortless. Older guy (45?) who'd been playing for many years.
Overall, I'd say work on 'snap' without rotating your back if you can. :)

Aug 16 2004, 05:50 PM