Mar 05 2004, 02:03 PM
I have been playing now for almost 3 years. My problem is with my short approach game on shots between 75'- 125'. I have a tough time with these shots because they only require you to throw with about 25% power and I usually can't control my distance or line. On an approach, say from 100', do you recommend still using the X-step, or are you supposed to just stand there and shift your weight when you throw? Also I have a grip issue. I can drive about 400' using the power grip, but for approaches, it feels awkward and oftern results in early or late releases. Should I try a different grip for my approaches, such as a control grip? I have had noone teach me anything about disc golf in my life. I never played with any pros or anything. I am better than almost all the people I play with, so they can't help me out. Everything I've learned has been solely from online articles and lots of practice. But practice doesn't help if you aren't practicing with good technique. Help would be greatly appreciated from a person who is great at approach shots.

gang4010
Mar 05 2004, 02:27 PM
If you're having difficulty with throws in a given range (in your case 75-125') - improving consistency is tied to repetition - and disc choice.

You don't necessarily need a cross step - but in windy conditions - a stand and deliver may not give you the comfort you need either.