Dec 01 2003, 11:46 AM
I just started playing disc golf a few weeks ago and my question to all you experienced players is -- At this stage in my development, what sort of distances should I be seeing on my drives?

I'm 26, 5'10", healthy, and throw RHBH. Right now I'm driving with a Cheetah, Beast and Roc (165-175g). I can't seem to get my drives to go more than 200 ft, with most drives being closer to 150 ft. They do go where I'm aiming most of the time, just not far.

I've read all the articles on driving and am putting the advice into practice. Just want to know if I have a hopeless weenie arm or not.

Luke/NJ

james_mccaine
Dec 01 2003, 12:18 PM
That's a good question. I wonder if most players gradually increase their distance after they begin or pretty much "start" with about 80% of their ultimate distance.

I'd answer your question, but it's been so long since I threw my first disc, that I have no idea. 200 ft is not bad for a beginner. Also, don't just assume that you have a weenie arm and all is hopeless. Alot of players have major flaws, that if corrected/overcome, could dramitically increase their distance.

seeker
Dec 01 2003, 01:22 PM
Is that 200 feet on flat throws? Most beginners think you get more distance by throwing high, which is not the case. If you are throwing big rainbows now, you will probably greatly increase your distance with a little technique and coaching.

Dec 01 2003, 01:29 PM
If it's only been a few weeks, I think your fairly normal.

I'd expect you to be throwing 300' within 2-3 months if you're playing regularly.

Dec 01 2003, 05:44 PM
Dude, if you`re throwing fairly straight IMO that`s the most important thing. Also work on your putting, that`s where you`ll see the biggest improvement in your game. The distance will come.

Dec 01 2003, 06:31 PM
2 200' throws on target is a dropin 400' par. At this point be happy, keep playing and work the short game.

Dec 01 2003, 07:52 PM