Aug 31 2003, 02:08 AM
I've been playing for 2 months, and am interested in improving my driving distance. I've read that a strong grip allows you to throw further, so I bought a powerball and have been working on my grip strength. I've seen an increase in strength, but have realized recently that I'm not sure how this translates into more distance. Should I actually be gripping the disc as hard as I can at the point of release? If so, can someone explain how this increases distance, as it seems counterintuitive to me. Thanks.

-Kevin

morgan
Aug 31 2003, 07:11 AM
Lots of things improve distance, and most of those things require a strong grip. But having a strong grip by itself doesn't improve distance. You have to do the other things.

davei
Aug 31 2003, 09:26 AM
Kevin, most of the grip strength necessary to throw far involves the index and middle finger flexors. Squeezing a rubber ball or using normal spring operated grip devices like the Jarvis' do would probably work best for the power grip. The other muscles that need strength are the finger and wrist extensors. You can hook a disc up to a bungee or specifically designed stretcher cord and go through the mechanical throwing motions while exagerating the forward wrist motion. Fred Salaz was marketing a device that would work for that. (I forget the name right now. Sorry Fred)Or you can go to a big field with 10 discs and throw 10 sets of 10 hard throws on a regular basis. This last method will allow you to improve everthing at once if you pay attention to the feedback you are getting from the feel of the disc in your hand, all of your body motions and rhythms, and the way the disc is flying. If you really want to get good. You are going to have to throw real throws, real hard, many times. How many times is up to you and how well you pay attention to the feedback you get when you throw.

Aug 31 2003, 02:25 PM