Originally Posted by Disckey
If a player's lie allows them to straddle putt(legal stance), do they still get relief from OB, fence, etc? I have heard various arguments in both directions...... My view of the rule focuses on a "legal stance," which I interpret as "not a stance you are comfortable with, but a legal stance." So if the lie is 2 feet give or take from OB, which would allow one to straddle putt, would the player get "relief?" (Assuming the player doesn't have size 18 shoes! Lol)
Every player is entitled to the full meter of relief from the line. Style of stance doesn't matter in the least, nor does the perception of whether the player "needs" the relief or not. So the answer to the question is yes, the player can still take the extra foot or so of relief if their original lie is 2 feet from the OB line.