I just read the new rule / policy about playing poorly on purpose or not finishing an event to avoid having the score counted towards your player rating. (http://www.pdga.com/ratings-manipulation-addressed
What happens when a player is truly "tanked", in that they secretly drank or smoked (or whatever) A LOT in between rounds (usually since the first round was so bad), and then they just blow up due to lack of inhibitions and lack of caring. I've seen this, but mostly in non-sanctioned events, so perhaps it is not a PDGA issue. Having said that, I still see folks drinking and smoking illegal drugs at sanctioned events.
So, what happens when someone continues to play, but is in such an altered state, the end result is that the score for that round is inflated, and therefore it likely would not be counted in their rating (the assumption is the score is beyond the 1 or 1.5 std deviations used to toss score rounds out). The result is the same as intentionally throwing poorly, but in this case, the attempts could be construed as valid but just wholly impaired.
And to be clear, I have seen players 'wasted' in later rounds but if I did not witness them getting that way, I cannot bust them on drinking/smoking, since I did not see them doing it.
Any thoughts on this?