If, after a mandatory has been passed, a subsequent throw crosses the mandatory line on the correct side but in the reverse direction, the mandatory has no longer been passed. The player must still pass the mandatory on the correct side. A line connecting the lies for the hole must pass to the correct sides of all mandatories for the hole.
Does this mean if my throw passes a mandatory on the correct side hits a tree then rolls back through the mandatory, that I now have missed the mandatory? I know it sounds strange, but this actually happened in a tournament. One person called it a missed mandatory, while the others ruled it a made mandatory, play on.