Originally Posted by JenniferB
My whole card of two complete women's divisions quit because we all thought it was unsafe to continue, but the TD saw no problem in trying to throw from dirt tees in knee deep flowing water (flash flood warning) with the ground lighting up around us from lightning overhead. My understanding is that he called it for a while, and we were too far from HQ to hear the horn, and decided to go in. On the way in, we heard a double horn blast as we got close to HQ, which it seems was his signal to restart. So when we got there, he was telling everyone to go back out and finish or take 7s on every hole they didn't finish. Everyone in my division and in the other women's division decided not to finish, and just take the 7s. I think maybe if the other division had known a DNF was on the line, they would have finished, because the second round took one of them up into a tie for first. The awards have been completed based on that and everyone was happy, I think. Those low round ratings from taking all those 7s will probably be low enough to be dropped for most of us. So if I ask the Tour Manager to look into it, it could really upset some stuff, but I'd like for this TD to understand the rules properly. Could he simply put in the actual scores for the second round for the ladies as on a different layout, or does he really have to DNF everyone? And what happens to payout when everyone DNFs?
Heard from someone close to the TD today that the TD knows he's not allowed to do that, but he plays his tournaments, and he did it to boost his own round ratings. I don't believe it either, but it's just too funny not to share. ;-)