Originally Posted by jconnell
You are completely ignoring the next line of the rule, which is also pretty important and is a condition of considering the disc holed out.
"B. Disc Entrapment Devices: In order to
hole out, the thrower must release the disc
and it must come to rest supported by the
chains and/or the inner cylinder (bottom and
inside wall) of the tray. It may be additionally
supported by the pole. "
^^^This part of the rule sets the 1 single requirement for where a disc must come to rest to be considered hole out.
"A disc observed by two
or more players of the group or an official to
have entered the target below the top of the
tray or above the bottom of the chain support
is not holed out."
^^^This part of the rule excludes certain cases in which a disc had already met that requirement.
The second part of the rule does not set a requirement for what a disc must do to be considered holed out. Chuck and Josh, you guys are imagining the second part of the rule to read "A DISC MUST HAVE entered the target below the top of the tray or above the bottom of the chain support to be considered holed out." It is in your imagination, and is your interpretation of a poorly written rule.
Also obtuse? Call the mods! Personal attack!!! lol
Krupicka, you get it! Thanks.