Originally Posted by Dana
Ok, wondering what the correct call would be on this.
-Player throws drive OB.
-Player throws following shot from OB (didn't realize it was OB).
-Player then throws in OB Creek from there and instead of going to the drop zone* (which player should have done after throwing the tee shot), plays it from the last spot it was in bounds (right by the basket).
*On this hole, shots from tee side of creek that go OB, must go to drop zone. Shots that go OB from basket side of Creek, play normal OB rules.
From the picture, you can see the OB line/rope. Players tee shot was dry, but on the OB side of the yellow rope.
Player scored the hole as a 4 with an OB Penalty.
Since Chuck seems to have lost his mind in another thread and may no longer be qualified to answer rules questions, I'll take a swing at this scenario, although it's a bit confusing as described.
Rule 801.04.B(4) describes what to do about the player's second throw from OB:
"Out-Of-Bounds Play: Playing an out-of-bounds disc as if it were in-bounds. If the misplay is discovered after the throw from out-of-bounds, but before a subsequent throw has been made, the player shall throw from the correct lie and treat the throw from out-of-bounds as a practice throw (one throw added to the player's score). If the misplay is discovered after a subsequent throw, the player shall proceed to complete the hole and receive a two-throw penalty for the misplay.
So the player would get two throws added for that. As for not throwing from the drop zone on the next throw, that would fall under Rule 801.04.E:
"E. In instances where a misplay is discovered after the player has turned in his or her scorecard, the misplay shall not be replayed and the player shall receive a two-throw penalty for the misplay."
So the player should get another two-throw penalty for not playing from the drop zone.
So, it looks to me like the "correct call" should be a score of 8 on this hole for this player.