Originally Posted by DSproAVIAR
OK, I read that. Here's the funny thing though- It never entered the target, and that's fine. The rules don't say that you must "enter the target" to be holed out. When the disc came to rest, it was supported by the inside of the basket. Thoughts?
I don't think you read it, because by saying a disc that doesn't enter the target above the rim of the tray and below the bottom of the chain assembly is not holed out, it is saying that the disc must
enter the target above the rim of the tray and below the bottom of the chain assembly in order to be legally holed out.
The exception being, of course, if no one saw the disc arrive at its location. So if you say you didn't see it and the rest of your group didn't see it, then I guess you can argue that it's holed out. I think I'd disagree with that argument because if the disc did as you describe, there's no way it could have legally entered the target and wound up where it was. So calling it a two is 100% the correct call.
As for the wording of the rule, I don't think anything needs to be added. For the disc to be supported by the "inner cylinder", it would have to be inside the cylinder to begin with. The disc pictured is not inside the cylinder.