Thanks for the input! To be clear, I'm not raising the discussion to justify calling it an ace. I marked it a deuce. My point is the rule wording needs to be changed.
Originally Posted by jconnell
If it rolled to that position, I'd say no ace to that shot based on the current rules. Here's the key line of the rule:
By your description, it did not enter the target over the top of the tray. It rolled under the basket to its final position. A year ago, you might have had an argument for it being an ace. Now, unless you didn't see it get to where it was, and since you say it rolled, I'm assuming you saw it, it's not holed out yet.
OK, I read that. Here's the funny thing though- It never entered the target, and that's fine. The rules don't say that you must "enter the target" to be holed out. When the disc came to rest, it was supported by the inside of the basket. Thoughts?
To clarify further, we all saw my drive and we all saw it hyzer out. We figured it would have landed about 20' left, and I assumed that's where I was going to find the disc. The first time we realized it came to rest in that position was when we were halfway to the bucket. That doesn't really matter, but just to clarify, it was an assumption when I said it rolled. A squirrel could've picked it up and dropped it there, for all we know.