Originally Posted by cgkdisc
Originally Posted by ERicJ
(1) Say I have a large solid obstacle 25cm behind my mini. Technically, I could probably take a legal stance, albeit a lousy one. But since in this situation I am prohibited from taking a legal stance 30cm behind my mini, as the rule says, can I play from behind the solid object instead?
(2) What happens in that situation if I say "I can't take a legal stance and want to play behind the solid obstacle", but another player on the card says "No, you can get your foot behind the mini, you have to play there."?
(1) & (2) If you can
physically take a stance behind the mark you must do so per the rule.
Okay, how far can you push that interpretation?
If there's 3cm
between the back edge of my marker (be it mini or thrown disc) and the solid object and my cardmates say: "take a knee, put one finger on the ground between the marker and the solid obstacle for a supporting point, and make the throw"... that's what I have to do?
Or "that's what I have to do" to avoid taking an Optional Relief or Rethrow penalty stroke....
It seems like in your interpretation the 30cm number is unnecessary. The rule would be the same if written: "If a large solid obstacle prevents a player from taking a legal stance directly behind the marker disc [...]"
Is not the 30cm part of the rule intended to ensure that the player has a reasonable area in which to take a stance? I.e. if your marker is within 30cm of the solid object you may optionally play immediately behind the solid object.