Originally Posted by cgkdisc
The score is 3. The Optional Rethrow always includes a 1-throw penalty. Double jeopardy means you don't get two 1-throw penalties in situations like landing above 2m when that's in effect and you decide to take an Optional Rethrow rather than mark below the tree. Now it's only a 1-throw penalty.
Under the old Unplayable Lie rule, you could not call the Unplayable Lie until you had a lie to call unplayable. So, you first had to take the 2m penalty to bring the disc to the ground to create a lie. Then, take another penalty for Unplayable Lie if you didn't like your spot under the giant pine tree with low limbs. That double jeopardy penalty doesn't exist with Optional Rethrow because you can call it while the disc is still in the tree above 2m. You avoid the 2m penalty but still get the Optional Rethrow penalty instead. Hopefully this makes sense?
from reading both "Optional Relief" and "Optional Re-throw"... IF
the 2 meter rule is in effect, you would avoid the one throw (2 meter) penalty only if you Chose "Re-throw"
from previous lie.
If you take "Optional Relief"
from under the tree, you have already accepted the throw in the tree as valid, incurred the penalty stroke for 2 meters and are now seeking to position your lie some where other than directly below the disc, an additional penalty stroke.
You have that option for relief, but at the cost of an additional stroke.
To avoid the 2 meter, you have to Optional Re-throw. Previous lie now shooting 3 and risking the same tree/2 meter situation.
The un-quoted ramblings are my opinion/interpretation only and is not intended as a definitive ruling.