Originally Posted by bruce_brakel
I've actually done this already this year, thinking it was allowed under the new rules. Now I'm thinking maybe I took advantage of everyone's confusion, my own included.
It was just to save me from having to crawl around in mud and thorns to get to my lie -- for the sake of the laundry more than for an advantage on my next throw. Either way, I was going to be down in two.
It's a longstanding tradition in our PDGA to make rule changes in secret and spring them on the membership half-baked and poorly worded. Let's hear it for tradition!
The scenario I was thinking is this: I threw a drive and it went 250 feet landing above 2m in a tree half way down the fairway. If I take my lie directly underneath this tree, I have a poor lie to shoot from and would probably have to throw out to the side to get a better position to throw from. However, I'm not sure if I could take optional relief backing me up with enough room to have a better approach shot, say a thumber over the tree line, and just take the optional relief penalty rather than taking a 2m penalty stroke with the bad lie. The rules are somewhat confusing as to the assessment of the correct penalty(s). I would think I would have to either throw underneath the tree with a 2m stroke, or throw from my previous lie (tee-pad) with optional rethrow penalty stroke.