Originally Posted by Patrick P
I'm asking these questions for clarification. I think I have a good understanding of the rules, however I just finished a round where these three scenarios came into question on our card.
Apologies if I came off a little snarky, but I'm surprised that the questions you posed couldn't be answered simply by looking at the rule book because there really isn't a grey area for any of them.
Casual water is casual water. There's never a penalty involved simply for landing in casual water. The player can either throw from where the disc lies in the water or take up to 5 meters of free line-of-play relief behind the original lie. Unless the player wants or needs to take more than 5m of relief, in which case he/she can utilize the optional relief (803.05C) and take a lie anywhere on the line of play behind the original lie with a one-throw penalty.
803.03F says a "disc thrown in water shall be deemed to be at rest once it is floating or is moving only by the action of the water or the wind on the water." So the lie in your scenario is approximately where it entered the stream and began floating on the current of the water rather than of its own momentum.
A broken branch no longer attached to a tree is on the list of designated casual obstacles in rule 803.05B. If a disc lands under or near such a branch, then the branch can be removed if
it impedes the player's stance or run-up. From your description, it probably would impede a stance, thus it can be removed.