Question about scoring rule change.
I've got a question about the Shawshank tournament's scoring procedures.
We were told by the TD that the "island hole" should be scored in a new way, per some new rule called the "bunker rule." I looked all over this site for it, but couldn't find any reference to it.
Basically, if a player tees off and misses the island green, they re-tee again shooting thier second throw. This scoring procedure contradicts the rule 803.09.B - B. A player whose disc is considered
out-of-bounds shall receive one penalty
Since the rule we were instructed to play under contradicts 803.09.B this would have to be specifically approved by the PDGA in advance under 804.01.D - D. No rules may be stipulated which
confl ict with the PDGA Rules of Play,
unless approved by the Tour Manager
of the PDGA.
Was this variance from the rules granted by the PDGA before the tournament? I'm curious about that because I sought this variance for Texas States about 3-4 years ago and was denied the variance by the Competition Director. It seems unlikely that he would change his mind based on the arguments I received when I applied for it.