Originally Posted by discette
I disagree with this statement. After the first round, players are grouped by how well they shot in the previous round. This IS set (indirectly) by rule 804.07A. You can't just decide you don't want to play on the last card and play on the lead card instead. In my opinion, changing cards without approval of the TD would be an example of unsportsmanlike conduct and as such, subject to DQ.
I think there is one other rule to prevent players from changing cards (And yes I know anything can be argued). 801.04 (B-05). If the TD set you to start on hole #5 and you take it upon yourself to start on hole #6 in a different group then in MY opinion you have not "played the holes in the correct order" as assigned by the TD.