Re: Ask Chuck
Correct me if I'm wrong.
Situation: The hole is a standard dog-leg left. A single row of trees run the length of the fairway on the right. Just to the right of the trees is a ditch approximately 12 feet across with 2-3 feet of standing water. TD declares, due to standing water on other parts of the course, that all water is casual. A player tees off and his disc hits a tree at the dog leg (pin high) and kicks into the middle of the ditch (under water). The player retreives his disc and throws his second shot from the edge of the fairway. In essence 6 feet closer to the basket from where his drive came to rest. The group did not notice the potential infraction because normally it's declared OB and the disc is brought back IB at point of entry with a 1 throw penalty. Would the proper way to play that have been to retrieve the disc and move it back 6 feet to the right side of the ditch under rule 803.05 C2? The player took relief but he took it closer to the basket instead of farther back.