I'm thinking we might look at including this in the competition guidelines as a case of unsportsmanlike conduct and produce a DQ for the event if players admit to booting a round for this reason.
I've actually looked into it and I got a 100% no from the rules committee.
to summarize what chair Carlton Howard told me (this was a while ago so extreme summary) - he is alarmed by players doing it, but there is no way to enforce it and to actually prove it without the player admitting to it. Also, he felt DQ was to severe but giving strokes when people are screwing around really doesn't matter at that point, in fact, many would probably encourage it.
I would be in 100% support of this idea. The PGA has a clause that players must try all the time regardless of the situation.