Rules Q & A: Kneeling on a towel
The Rules Committee has issued a new Q & A. The text is contained below and is also available at www.pdga.com/rules/qa.php
Rule Question: Kneeling on a towel
A player’s shot lands in a spot that has very hard, rocky ground. Can she place a towel or pad down in order to prevent abrasions to her body (or to keep her knee/clothes clean and/or dry)?
Important Note: Previously we had ruled that this was not permitted. This opinion reverses that ruling.
* 802.04 Artificial Devices
* 803.05 (Obstacles and Relief) C
* 803.04 (Stance, Subsequent to Teeing Off) A.1
802.04 allows the use of items that reduce or control abrasion. Towels or pads may fulfill this purpose. Assuming that the unsafe items on the playing surface are not subject to removal or relief under PDGA rule 803.05.C (which covers relief from obstacles to one's stance), she is allowed to place a towel or small pad under any body part, with the exception of her feet (which should already be covered by protective devices such as shoes).
Note: She may move items under 803.05 C and also use a towel or small pad under her knee.
A "small pad" is defined as being 1 centimeter or less in thickness, when compressed.
Conclusion: One may use a towel or small pad (with a maximum compressed thickness of 1 centimeter) in order to prevent harm/abrasions to the body during competitive play. A towel or pad may be used under one's foot only on the tee box.
The PDGA Rules Committee
Carlton Howard, Chair
|All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:55 AM.|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2012 Professional Disc Golf Association. All rights reserved.